The Curmudgeon-Online

Author Biography.

Evelyn Waugh (1903 - 1966)

Writer, born in London, England, UK. He studied at Oxford, and quickly established a reputation with such social satirical novels as Decline and Fall (1928), Vile Bodies (1930), and Scoop (1938). He became a Catholic in 1930, and his later books display a more serious attitude, as seen in the religious theme of Brideshead Revisited (1945), a nostalgic evocation of student days at Oxford, which was made into a successful television series. His "sword of honour' trilogy contains Men at Arms (1952), Officers and Gentlemen (1955), and Unconditional Surrender (1961). His diaries were published in 1976, and his letters in 1980.

Home Search
Contact us Privacy Statement Disclaimer
Copyright 2001-2020 White Plume Ltd., All rights reserved.